Patty Goes Geeky

A techno odyssey

It is not easy being me

with one comment

I decided it’s time to learn technology, so I don’t have to ask my kids to be tech support and so if I’m overseeing a student blog in Rome winter quarter, I have some glimmer of what I’m doing. (“I must hurry for there they go and I am their leader.”) What better way than to learn by doing? Let’s start by creating a blog, and proceed to uploading photos, learning how to work my cellphone better, maybe even learning to edit audio, which will be useful if my sister and I ever start our genealogy business.

I figured either Blogspot or WordPress would have idiot-proof blog sites, and when I checked the blog David Domke’s students created for political coverage, it was run on WordPress. Fortunately, I have a modicum of experience writing and editing on WordPress from when I was SPJ secretary.

Unfortunately, it was not an auspicious start. I don’t know what I did wrong in creating a password, but operator error crept in — as is usual, just ask The Seattle Times I.T. Department — and when I tried to login, WordPress didn’t recognize my password. So before I even started I had to reset it to something like !@@#$%^&*&*(())PAlphaFoodbits. Rats.

So, this is my first blog post. Next I will customize my site. God willing.

No. Next I will change my password to something I can remember. At my age, that’s not easy.

Written by geekypatty

October 21, 2009 at 9:16 pm

Posted in Blog

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Good thing you started on wordpress, it’s leaps and bounds ahead of blogger in my humble opinion, and the visibility of WP blogs on search engines is miles better. My only critique is that most of the themes are absolutely horrendous, and the theme creator’s skid marks are everywhere on most themes. They definitely need more neutral themes that let you design your own backgrounds too, instead of only the header.
    You’ll get the hang of it in time. ;-]

    defpunk

    October 24, 2009 at 1:01 am


Leave a Reply

