Patty Goes Geeky

A techno odyssey

No thanks on the phone, but much obliged for the discount

with one comment

I just got back from the Verizon store, where I checked out the Storm2 at the suggestion of my I.T. guy, who was going to get the other phone on the BOGO sale if I elected to upgrade. (See, I now can shorthand Buy One Get One.)

It could have been quite an elegant transaction: He sells his old Storm on Craigslist for about enough to pay for my two-fer upgrade and voila! we both have new phones for free.

Ah, but as we all know, there rarely is such thing as free. Beyond the two-year extension, our monthly plan would have gone up $30 to add Internet access to my line. I make that $360 a year, without even having to consult a calculator.

The eager salesperson wonders if an employer discount might help offset the new cost. “University of Washington?” I ask. “Yes,” she replies triumphantly. “Just bring in a current pay stub.” It’s apparently good for 20 percent off our plan.

After playing with Storm2 for a while, I decide I won’t get the nearly 400 bucks a year use from its bells and whistles. My old phone is sufficient. Geekypatty feels faintly disappointed and a little guilty as she slinks from the Verizon store while the salesperson isn’t looking.

On the other hand, the 20 percent discount is real money. I’m pissed that we’ve missed out on it for god knows how long, but I’ll take it going forward.

And as my I.T. adviser noted, there will always be new phones. If not this time, maybe next. Can I be both a late adopter and a geek?

Written by geekypatty

November 8, 2009 at 12:59 am

Posted in Misc Tech

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Great post this will really help me.

    Pharmacy Technician

    December 4, 2009 at 7:10 am


Leave a Reply

