Patty Goes Geeky

A techno odyssey

A cookie issue I could fix but can’t explain

leave a comment »

After switching to Firefox, I was unable to get to my Google calendar from my G-mail e-mail account. The error message said something to the effect that the transfer wasn’t working and would never work, and I got it repeatedly. After Googling the problem, I found that others were experiencing the Firefox/Google calendar issue. The solution was to delete the Google cookie (open Firefox and then Tools, Options, Privacy, Cookies, Remove Cookie). I was going to just let it go, and then figured since I’d learned a technobit, I should include it in my blog in case my many (OK, four) readers would find it useful. Perhaps, as I did, you’d find some background on cookies useful. My rudimentary understanding is that it’s information stored on my computer that tracks where I’ve browsed, sort of like Hansel and Gretel’s crumb trail. I do not know why they’re called cookies instead of crumbs. More to the point, I still don’t know why deleting the cookie fixed the problem. And while some of me really, really wants to know a clear explanation, the majority of me doesn’t care enough to spend any more time on it.

Written by geekypatty

December 26, 2009 at 1:53 pm

Posted in Misc Tech

Leave a Reply

