Patty Goes Geeky

A techno odyssey

Buzz cuts

leave a comment »

One of my I.T. staff and I were talking about our unwilling membership in Buzz via our Gmail accounts, and how it seemed a lot too little and a lot too late for Google to be entering the social-networking field. Then I saw my network grow as Google helped itself to my contact list, and my discomfort grow as people who didn’t know I was watching had conversations they probably would not have invited me to monitor.

It was kind of icky.

The outrage extended among those whose contact lists contain therapists, mistresses, abusive ex-spouses, confidential sources and other people whose relationships may be private for a reason.

I am the last person in the world who has not signed up for Facebook (even my husband has). For a long time I didn’t do it because I didn’t want to ruin it for my kids. Either their mother would read what they posted, or they would have to not friend her. Gross, or hurtful, take your pick. Even after the whole world Facebooked, so they gave me permission, for some reason I didn’t want to. And to be practical, as soon as I joined it would be a sign that it was so uncool that everyone would abandon it, anyway. Facebook would become the MySpace of its time, all because of me.

That, at least, would create a vacuum for Buzz to fill. And like it or not, I’m already a member.

postscript: One of the people I’m following posted this counter-opinion.

Written by geekypatty

February 13, 2010 at 12:25 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

